The 2020–21 season of Indian domestic cricket, which includes only the men's national championship for the Ranji Trophy and possibly the senior women's tournament, will be played in the bio bubble due to the coronavirus epidemic. During this time it will be organized only in those cities which have at least three grounds, adequate hotels, and good hospitals for an emergency. No spectators will be allowed to enter the stadium during matches.

The format of the Ranji Trophy will be changed and instead of four groups, this tournament will be played based on zone. This means that for league matches, a zone team will have to gather in the same city. The same format will also be applied in the senior women's tournament. A source said that the decision was taken at a meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The source said that a change has been proposed in the 2020-21 domestic season due to Kovid-19 as no one knows what is right for all of us. Nevertheless, we have decided to hold the Ranji Trophy in January and possibly for the Senior Women's tournament temporarily. A final decision on which date it will start has not been taken but it will be played early next year. However, in January this will depend on Kovid's position.

The old format will be replaced

The source said that the old format of the Ranji Trophy will change and the matches will now be played in bio-bubble and a city in each zone so that teams and match officials have to cover the minimum distance between the hotel and the ground. The condition of choosing cities is that they should have at least three good Kovid hospitals for an emergency. No spectators will be allowed to enter the grounds.

Committee will be formed

The source said that a committee will be formed for this. He said that this committee will visit all the possible cities and after taking stock of the preparations there, will submit a report. There is no question of a junior level tournament for March-April. We will discuss the junior tournament in February or March. Junior cricketers are also eagerly waiting for their season to begin.

All teams will be divided into 6 zones

Domestic cricket usually starts in the middle of August. Last year it started with the Duleep Trophy on 17 August while the Ranji Trophy started on 9 December. 38 teams are participating in the Ranji Trophy and it is divided into 6 cricket zones, consisting of teams from East, West, North, South, Central, and New North-East zones. Chandigarh's team had a good performance last year and this time too the team would like to repeat the same performance.

Everyone is waiting to return to the pitch

All cricketers are waiting to return to the pitch to prove themselves and for a player, this wait is very difficult. A cricketer never wants to keep himself away from the field but the last few months have not been good for the players. If the cricketers are getting a chance after 7-8 months, then nothing could be better. This is also important because every cricketer has prepared for it.

- Arslan Khan, Opening Batsman, Chandigarh Cricket Team

Only Ranji can show performance

It is very important to start the Ranji season because from here you can show your talent to everyone. Well done here to make a place in the teams of India-A and IPL is quite useful. If someone's previous season has not gone well, then not playing this year can backfire on him. You cannot show your game in a day trial. The domestic season is a must for a cricketer. This is also the only means for his earnings.