There was more than one excellent captain at the international level, who made the team world champion under his captaincy. In the last decade, there were many successful captains like Ricky Ponting, MS Dhoni, and Imran Khan. They raised the honor of his team in world cricket. But there were some captains who were very unlucky. These captains also lost their chance to be called world champions due to their mistakes.

Mahela Jayawardene
Former Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene was awarded the ICC Best International Captain of the Year award in 2006. In the 2007 ICC World Cup, Sri Lanka reached the final under the captaincy of Jayawardene. But he had to face defeat from Australia. After which the Sri Lankan cricket team was reshuffled and Kumar Sangakkara was made the new captain of the team.

Inzamam ul Haq
Former Pakistani captain Inzamam-ul-Haq is the only captain under whose captaincy Pakistan had to face defeat in the T20 World Cup in 2007. He was removed from the captaincy by the PCB after the loss in the Indo-Pak final match. In his place, Shahid Afridi was made the captain of the team.

Kane Williamson
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson made a big mistake in the 2019 ODI World Cup. This was the second time that the New Zealand team was playing the final match of the World Cup. The result of this match was declared on the basis of boundaries and the England team won the trophy. England's batsmen had hit more boundaries.