Forgetting the bitter memories of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, the Indian team will embark on a new era in this format against New Zealand in the first match of the three-match T20 series. This is Rohit Sharma's first series as a full time T20 International captain. So this is also the first series of head coach Rahul Dravid. From the Indian team, Venkatesh Iyer could make his debut in the T20 Internationals while Yujvendra Chahal could get a chance to return to the team.

Both Chahal and Iyer were not part of the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup. Speaking of New Zealand, Captain Ken Williamson will not play in the T20 series. Instead, the team will be seen captaining Saudi.

India suffered a heavy defeat against New Zealand in the T20 World Cup and the road to the semi-finals was difficult for the Indian team after this defeat. The Indian team lost two consecutive matches against Pakistan and New Zealand in the Super-12 round. The New Zealand team performed brilliantly to reach the final of the tournament, where they lost to Australia. Ken Williamson will not play in the T20 series to focus on the Test series.

The top order of Indian batting was failing in the first two matches of the T20 World Cup but then in all three matches Rohit Sharma, K.L. Rahul's son made a fuss. It will keep an eye on both of them once again. Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma can start the innings. While in the absence of Virat Kohli, Rahul can bat at No. 3. Mohammad Siraj could replace Bhuvneshwar Kumar who is not appearing in rhythm. Hardik Pandya could be replaced by Venkatesh Iyer.

India's potential playing XI

Rohit Sharma (Capt.), K.L. Rahul (Vice Captain), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, R. Ashwin, Mohammad Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Yujvendra Chahal.

New Zealand's potential playing XI

Tim Southee (Capt.), Darrell Mitchell, Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Sifert, Jimmy Nisham, Mitchell Center, File Jamison, Is Sochi, Trent Bolt.