In the final and third Test of the series played in Cape Town, South Africa defeated Team India by seven wickets. With this, South Africa has won the three-match Test series 2-1. With this defeat, Team India's dream of winning the first Test series in South Africa has been shattered.

India gave South Africa a target of 212 to win, in response to which the South African team lost by just three wickets on the fourth day.

Keegan Peters was the highest run scorer from South Africa with 82 runs. This is Peterson's third half century in the series. Apart from that, Van Dur Dussen and Temba Bauma returned unbeaten, giving their team a win. Dean Elgar scored 30 off 96 balls with the help of three fours.

The Indian team scored 223 in the first innings in reply to which the hosts were bowled out for 210. Team India had a 13-run lead in the first innings. But in the second innings, Team India was all out for 198 runs. South Africa had a target of 212 to win. In the second innings, the flop show of Team India's batsmen continued and the entire team was bowled out for just 198 runs. Rishabh Pant played an unbeaten innings of 100, but the batsmen could not survive at the other end and kept returning to the pavilion. The Indian team had a bad start in the second innings and KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal returned to the pavilion soon after. This was followed by Cheteshwar Pujara and captain Virat Kohli handling the innings together. But on the second ball of the third day, Pujara returned to the pavilion with 9 runs. After this, Rishabh Pant and Kohli advanced the score. Kohli was dismissed for 29.