The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will kick off at 7.30 pm today at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium. Kolkata Knight Riders (CSK vs KKR) will take on Chennai Super Kings in the opening match.

Earlier, the BCCI would felicitate the Tokyo Olympic medalists at the cricket ground. All the medal winners, including Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra, will be honored.

Last year, the BCCI announced cash prizes for medalists at the Tokyo Olympics. However, he did not say when the ceremony would take place. However, the cash will be given to these players before the start of IPL 2022. Neeraj Chopra, who won the first individual gold medal in athletics in the country's 125-year history after 2008, will be honored with Rs 1 crore.

Silver medalist weightlifter Mirabai Chanu and wrestler Ravi Dahiya will be given Rs 50 lakh each. Chanu will not be able to attend the event due to busy schedule. Bronze medalist wrestler Bajrang Poonia, boxer Lovelina Borgohai and badminton player PV Sindhu will be given Rs 25 lakh each. Apart from this, Rs 1.25 crore will be given to the men's hockey team that won the Indian hockey medal after 41 years. The women's hockey team will also be honored.

For the fourth year in a row, the BCCI will not hold the inaugural ceremony of the IPL. The last inauguration ceremony was held in 2018. It was decided not to hold the ceremony in the wake of the Pulwama attack in 2019 and the opening ceremony did not take place in 2020 and 2021 due to corona virus and lockdown. The BCCI was spending around Rs 40-45 crore for this.