In the last few years, the names of many cities in India have changed. There are many such places in India, whose names have been changed not once, not two, but three times. Let us tell you the names of those cities in this article, whose names have changed many times.

Allahabad to Prayagraj
The name of this city was changed to Ilahab by the Mughal ruler Emperor Akbar, although with time the city came to be known as Allahabad. After some time the name of this city was changed in English to Allahabad. Earlier it was known as Prayagraj or Prayag, but with the passage of time, many changes took place in its name. Eventually, it was named Prayagraj.

Let us tell you that the name of Kanpur has been changed 21 times since the old times. According to historians, the first name of Kanpur was 'Kanhpur', which was founded by Hindu Singh Chandel. Apart from this, Kanpur was also named Khanpur. Finally, after independence in the year 1948, this city was named Kanpur, since then till today people know this city only by the name of Kanpur.

Thiruvananthapuram, the capital of the state of Kerala, has also been renamed several times over time. Although the name of this city was Thiruvananthapuram in the Hindi language, in English this city was known as Trivandrum. In 1991, the Government of Kerala decided to change the name of the city to Thiruvananthapuram.

Let us tell that years ago this city was known as Mumba Devi, Mumbai was named after the ancient Mumba Devi of the city. But during the reign of Aurangzeb, this city came to be called Bombay. However, in the year 1995, BJP and Shiv Sena together named this city Mumbai.

The name of Panaji, the capital of Goa, has also been changed several times from time to time. The word Panaji means 'the land that never floods. Let us tell you that initially, the Portuguese named this city Panjim. A few years later, the city was renamed Nova Goa, which means New Goa. But in the year 1961, the name of this city was changed to Panaji.