Even before the IPL started, the troubles of Mumbai Indians have increased. Lasith Malinga, the team's fast bowler and the highest wicket-taker in the IPL, has pulled out of the league. He decided to withdraw from the tournament citing family reasons. Australian fast bowler James Pattinson has been selected as his replacement. He has not played in the IPL so far.

The statement issued by Mumbai Indians said that the team has signed Australian fast bowler James Pattinson for the replacement of Lasith Malinga for the IPL this year. Malinga has withdrawn from the IPL due to personal reasons and wants to stay with his family in Sri Lanka. Pattinson will join the Mumbai Indians team later this week.

We will miss Malinga: Akash Ambani

Team owner Akash Ambani said that James is perfect for us, because of him, the options in fast bowling have increased, especially in the condition in which we are going to play this time. Malinga is a legend and has been a strong pillar for Mumbai Indians. We will miss him in this IPL. We understand that it is more important in Sri Lanka to be with his family. We welcome James to Mumbai Indians.

Malinga second-highest bowler in T20
The Mumbai team has fast bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult of New Zealand. But then Malinga's experience will be lacking. Malinga is also the highest wicket-taker in T20 cricket after Dwayne Bravo. He has taken 390 wickets in the T20 format, while Bravo has 504 wickets.

Pattinson played ODI for Australia 5 years ago

On the other hand, Pattinson has not made his IPL debut yet. He has previously been a part of Kolkata Knight Riders. He has so far taken 47 wickets in 39 T20s at an average of 24.12. He took five wickets for 33 runs for the Brisbane Heat in the Big Bash League earlier this year, which is his best performance. Pattinson last played in an ODI for Australia 5 years ago. However, he is in the Test team. He played the last Test against New Zealand in January this year.

Malinga's IPL record
Malinga has taken 170 wickets in 122 matches of IPL. He took the highest number of 28 wickets in a season in 2011. He is the second bowler to bowl the most dot balls in the IPL. He has thrown 1155 dot balls so far. In the first place is Harbhajan Singh. He has thrown 1249 dot balls.