The 12-member Special Committee of the Sports Ministry on Monday finalized the names of veterans for the Dronacharya and Major Dhyanchand Sports Honors. This time 13 coaches including shooting coach Jaspal Rana and hockey coach Rome's Pathania will be given the Dronacharya Award. At the same time, 15 legends have been selected for the Major Dhyanchand Samman. The names of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award winners will be announced at Tuesday's meeting.

Rana's name was recommended by the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI). His name was also sent last time, but he was ignored. After this, Olympic gold medalist Abhinav Bindra also questioned the selection process. World-class shooters like Manu Bhaker, Saurabh Chaudhary, and Anish Bhanwala have come out in Rana's coaching.

Rohit Sharma and Vinesh Phogat in Khel Ratna race
This time in the race to get Khel Ratna, apart from cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, shooter Anjum Mudgil, table-tennis player Monica Batra, women's hockey team captain Rani Rampal, Neeraj Chopra, and boxer Amit Panghal. However, apart from these, many big names Hima Das, Apoorvi Chandela, Kidambi Srikanth are also in the race for the country's biggest sports award.

42 applications for Khel Ratna

For the first time due to Corona, the Sports Ministry called for online applications. This year, 42 applications have come for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna. While the names of 215 players have been sent for the Arjuna Award. The performance for this year's Arjuna Award and Khel Ratna from January 2016 to December 2019 will be considered.

The BCCI has sent the names of Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan for the Arjuna Award. In the women's section, the board has sent the name of all-rounder Deepti Sharma for the Arjuna Award.

These three giants too Dronacharya
Dharmendra Tiwari from Archery, Shiv Singh from Boxing, and Kuldeep Hindu from Wushu have also been selected for Dronacharya. Kuldeep is the Chief Wushu Coach of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. At the same time, Dharmendra has also been the coach of the Archery team going to the Olympics. Currently, Tata Archery is coaching the academy. Olympian Deepika Kumari has also taken coaching from him.

Virender Sehwag is also among the members of the committee
The Sports Ministry constituted a committee of 12 members to select the winners. It is headed by retired Supreme Court Justice Mukundakam Sharma. The committee members are former cricketer Virender Sehwag, former hockey player Sardar Singh, Paralympic silver medalist Deepa Malik, former table-tennis player Monalisa Barua Mehta, boxer Venkatesan Devarajan, besides journalists Alok Sinha and Neeru Bhatia.

To be awarded through video conferencing

Every year on August 29, National Sports Day is celebrated on the birth anniversary of hockey player Major Dhyan Chand. On this occasion, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, and Dhyanchand Award are given in a simple ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. However, there will be no ceremonies due to this corona. If sources are to be believed, this time the President will honor all the winners only through video conferencing.